I believe in peace

I believe in peace. I believe that every human being has the potential to be a peacemaker rather than a warmaker, although in some that potential is hidden deep beneath layers of anger and fear. I believe that we do not have to continue on the path of war and violence simply because in the recorded history of humans that is the primary path that has been followed. I believe that if violent reactions are innate, then so are peaceful, compassionate reactions, and we can choose to react peacefully rather than violently. I believe that peace is possible.

Some of the beliefs I express above are inspired by Deepak Chopra’s optimism and compassion in his book Peace Is the Way. I have not finished this book yet, but it is motivating me to start this blog and to start thinking about peace more actively in my daily life. I feel that the things I most value are all interrelated, and ultimately all related to peace. I hope for this blog to be a place where I can explore various aspects of these things and discover their relationship to peace. I am not going to list out the things I value now; it will gradually become apparent what those things are as I post on topics I find meaningful or inspiring.

I welcome respectful comments that recognize the fact that I am expressing my personal thoughts and opinions on things, and thus there will often be no “right” and “wrong”.

Go in peace.

Leave a Reply

