Possibilities

Sometimes I look upon the world and sense an infinity of possibilities. In these moments, I feel capable, confident, hopeful, inspired, creative. I feel ready to take on the world. Alas, these moments, though recurring, are fleeting.

The most powerful moment of possibilities for me is mornings. Every morning, but particularly early, sunny, blue mornings, when I awaken, I know that there is an entire fresh day ahead of me and I feel that it is full of possibilities. There are so many things I can do, so many ways I can be, so many thoughts I can have in this day that I face. No matter whether I slept well or not, I wake up ready to act. I am my most productive in the mornings, at whatever I wish to be productive at – work, organizing, cleaning, making shopping lists, writing blog posts. As the day continues, though, I lose the sense of its fullness. I languish in the afternoons, feeling that the day is escaping me, that there is never enough time to do everything I want to do. At least I know that the morning will come again and I will once again face possibilities.

Another powerful trigger of possibilities for me is libraries. I love to wander through the stacks and bask in the knowledge that I am surrounded by a multitude of thoughts, ideas, facts and entire worlds. In a library, I feel that the possibilities of things I could learn about, of ideas in the world, are endless. A library has the power to feed my hunger for learning about new things, and thus it is full of possibilities.

The infinity of space is another source of possibilities for me. The moments when I am gazing up in to a wide open sky, standing on a mountaintop, or watching the ocean disappear over the horizon make me feel that everything is wide open and infinite. I sense my smallness against these great land-, sky-, or sea-scapes, but at the same time I feel inspired and hopeful. I feel empowered to set aside the every day trivialities and instead focus on the important possibilities of my life.

What about you? What makes you feel inspired or that the world is full of possibilities?

Leave a Reply

