Organization of the week: The University for Peace

I’m going to try something new on this blog: a regular weekly feature where I highlight a peace-related organization. I spend a lot of time looking at the websites for various organizations, so I thought I might as well give that browsing some focus.

This week the organization is The University For Peace. It is a UN-mandated university established in 1980 and headquartered in Costa Rica. They offer an MA program with several possible focuses, such as “International Law and Human Rights”, “International Peace Studies”, “Natural Resources and Sustainable Development”, and “Peace Education”, as well as some short courses and professional trainings. Students are from around the world, and they have locations in several continents in addition to their main campus. Their mission, as stated on the website, is:

To provide humanity with an international institution of higher education for peace with the aim of promoting among all human beings the spirit of understanding, tolerance and peaceful coexistence, to stimulate cooperation among peoples and to help lessen obstacles and threats to world peace and progress, in keeping with the noble aspirations proclaimed in the Charter of the United Nations.

I think it is wonderful that such a university exists and that it would be amazing to study at this university. Even though I have not decided whether I want to (or am ready to spend money on) formally studying peace, I dread writing papers, and I do not particularly want to move to Costa Rica (although I would love to visit), reading their website makes me want to study there, in what I can only imagine is a positive, encouraging, and hopeful atmosphere.

Leave a Reply

