Organization of the week: Mediate.com

I have been thinking about mediation a lot recently (I just finished reading The Promise of Mediation: The Transformative Approach to Conflict, by Robert A. Baruch Bush and Joseph P. Folger, which I will be reviewing in a subsequent post), so for the organization this week I want to highlight Mediate.com. Their tagline is “Everything Mediation.” Although it appears to be run by a for-profit company, I think it is worth mentioning because I come across it frequently in various mediation-related web searches, and it seems to be a good resource.

I find it a bit difficult to easily navigate their website, but there does seem to be a wealth of information on it. There is a large collection of article on all sorts of topics related to mediation; in fact, I think it was in one of these articles that I first came across the term “transformative mediation.” There is also a directory of mediators; individuals can pay for a full listing and extra services, or have a basic listing for free. The site does seem to be targeted towards professional mediators (e.g. those making a living at it, as opposed to volunteer mediators such as myself), but seems useful for anyone interested in mediation.

Leave a Reply

